1. Carat Weight
  • This is the unit of weight measurement for gemstones.
  • 1 carat is equal to 0.2 grams.
  • 1 carat consists of 100 points, therefore, a 0.75 carat diamond is said to be a 75 pointer.
  • The greater the carat weight, the larger the stone.

  1. Colour
  • This evaluation is based on the absence of colour. The ‘whiter’ the diamond, the more valuable the stone.
  • The diamonds are graded from D (colourless) to Z (diamond displaying a yellow tint).
  • Beyond Z, we find “fancy colours” which range from light yellow to intense/canary yellow.
  • Fancy colour diamonds are even more expensive than colourless stones.
  • Fancy colours include blue, red, green, pink, purple, grey, black, orange, champagne and yellow.

  1. Clarity
  • This aspect refers to the diamond’s characteristics in terms of its flaws.
  • Like humans, diamonds are unique with each one pertaining a different appearance from the next.
  • Diamonds are rated on visibility, size, location and the number of inclusions and blemishes. Inclusions are internal whilst blemishes are external.
  • Almost all inclusions and blemishes are invisible to the naked eye and will remain unseen to anyone other than a trained gemmologist.

  1. Cut
  • Refers to the diamond’s shape, proportions, symmetry and final polish.
  • When a diamond is cut in adherence to the above disciplines, light is able to return from the top of the diamond which heightens the “sparkle” (brilliance) of the stone.
  • The shape may include pear, round, heart, oval, marquise etc.